My Nemesis

Writers block. My arch nemesis. The very thought of you annoys me. Your presence drives me crazy, preventing me from putting my thoughts on paper, silently blocking any progress I’d love to make with my stories. You’re lucky that you are not a physically here, else I’d be grinning in pleasure while feeding your corpse to the pigs.

Okay, dark somewhat disturbing rant over. I’m pretty sure there are some writers out there who share similar thoughts about this annoying thing that is called writers block. I don’t know about you, but I hate it when during the time I’m away from my computer I come up with an idea that would progress my story nicely. I have the idea written down, know what I want to do, and how to go about it. But when I get to the computer, boot it up and start up Word, nothing. Absolutely nothing happens. I can imagine the scene I want to write down, but despite trying, I can transfer my thoughts to paper. Then the sense of defeat comes upon me.

I have found some ways to combat it though, and sometimes they work. Sometimes. Which is better than nothing I guess. One way I defeat that pain in the ass referred to as writers block, is listen to some good music. Depending on the scene I am writing at the time, music helps progress the story pretty well as well.

Another way I go about it, is to stop trying to work on my present story and jump to another that I have set on the back burner. Then while I am working on the other story I get inspiration and go back to work on the first one.

But sometimes that doesn’t even work. And most times it is best to just take a break instead of trying to keep pushing yourself to write. Let your mind relax. Play a game, watch some TV, surf the web etc etc. And if you’re anything like me when it comes to writing, you’ll be thinking about your story the entire time, figuring out a way to continue where you left off. Next thing you know, you’re back at it.

But sometimes, none of those work. And writers block chalks up another win. So that’s where you (the reader) comes in. What do you do to combat the dreaded writers block?

One comment

  1. I’m not a writer by any means, but I have written short stories for myself for fun. Those were written at my most emotional times. I started writing stories when I was 14, romance of course! It came from wanting to fit in to the high and mighty clique in school. I had to channel that anger (I was bullied.) into something, before I got a job. I filled up that kitten spiral notebook in one afternoon.
    These days; I dabble. I lie awake at night and write the outline in my head for a story, only to awaken with what I call ‘eraser feet’! Soon as my feet hit the floor I forget it all. Yeah, yeah. Keep a pen and pad by the bed. Doesn’t work that way. It only flows in my head. I can only imagine what it feels like for someone who’s livelihood may depend on it!
    So, emotions and adrenaline running high work for me. Also, MUSIC. It makes it all better. Puts me in the zone with the right songs. It seems to zap that mojo button in the ole noggin and creativity seems to sizzle! I can close my eyes when ‘that’ song comes on, and write…in my head!!
    Hope this is helpful in some sort of way. Alas, I am a mere mortal, reading to escape reality!

Leave a Reply

